Thursday, June 3, 2010


This event was first run in 1967 and from 1967 to 1985 it was won by an English couple. In 1986 and 1987 a Dr. & Mrs. G. Abraham from the USA were the first foreign couple to take the title away from the English. England took back the title in 1996 and in 2000. Couples from the following countries held the title up to last year: Belgium, Germany (two times), Japan, Czech Republic (three times), Spain (two times), Philippines, Finland, and France.
This year there were 85 couples listed to dance including 3 couples from the USA. The dances were Cha Cha Cha, Samba, Rumba, Paso Doble and Jive was introduced into the Semi-Final and Final. Couples competing were from England (17), Germany (10), Japan (8), Finland (7), France (6), Canada (4), Hong Kong (4), Austria (3), Spain (3), USA (3), Australia (2), Portugal (2), Italy (2), Russia (2), China (2), The Netherlands (2), Singapore (2), and 1 couple from South Africa, Malta, Wales, Scotland, Croatia, and Belgium.
Hawaii was represented by Calvin and Debra Ota and although they did not make the first cut they showed more confidence than they did when they danced the Senior Ballroom. They got themselves into a little trouble in the Paso Doble. Apparently it had not been explained to them that Spanish Gypsy Dance is not used all the time at the British Championships. If we all had to listen to that piece of music, which would be played 200+ times during the week, we would go crazy. Most dancers adapt their choreography to the unusual count of Spanish Gypsy Dance but for competitive work it is better to work in counts of 8. Unfortunately Calvin and Debra had not understood this. Anyway they certainly did not disgrace themselves and I am sure it was a great learning experience for them.
Into 1st place from Finland Petri and Ulla Jarvinen, 2nd place from Germany Andreas Hoffmann and Isabel Krueger, 3rd place from Spain Roberto Hernandez and Beatriz Perez, 4th place from Russia Vadim Kardash and Elena Skvortsova, 5th place from Finland Jouko Karppinen and Helena Merta, 6th place from Belgium Slawek Lukawczyk and Edna Klein.

No comments:

Post a Comment